Kennedy Supports Clinton for President

8 Oct

Robert F. Kennedy Jr.

 KENNEDY: I’M FOR HILLARY

On his weekly Air America radio show this week, Robert F. Kennedy Jr. told listeners that Hillary Clinton is the candidate he is currently supporting for president.

While this news may come as a shock to many of his progressive supporters who strongly disagree with Hillary’s policies, it is important to bear in mind that the Kennedys and the Clintons have always been political allies. Kennedy endorsed Bill Clinton in 1992 and 1996, and also gave his endorsement to Hillary in her 2000 run for the United States Senate.

Naturally, RFK Jr. would support whomever the Democratic nominee will be in 2008, and at this point, all bets are on Hillary Clinton.

There is also that little rumor about RFK Jr. having an eye on his father’s former Senate seat, currently occupied by Mrs. Clinton. Should she go on to win the presidency, New York governor Elliot Spitzer would by law have to appoint her temporary replacement in 2009.

In recent weeks, the media feeding frenzy of speculation as to who might get the job has been intense. Already the New York Times, the Daily News, the London Times, and other publications have mentioned Bobby Kennedy’s name as a possible contender for Hillary’s Senate seat, in addition to this blog’s report of September 23.

No doubt about it, RFK Jr. would be a perfect choice. His father was senator for New York from 1964 until he was shot after winning the California primary in 1968; his uncle Jack was a senator before becoming president, and his uncle Ted remains a senator for Massachusetts. RFK Jr. wants to run for office, he said, because the Bush administration had made America “the most hated nation on earth”.

But by no means should he be considered a shoe-in for the Senate seat. The competition for this coveted prize is likely to be fierce; names like Mario Cuomo and even former president Bill Clinton have been floated as potential replacements. And there is also reportedly a great deal of pressure on Governor Spitzer to appoint a minority, so expect to see many more black, Hispanic, and female hopefuls vying for consideration this time around.

How should Bobby’s supporters in the draft movement analyze these latest developments? Does his support for Clinton mean that he will not consider running for president in 2008? (Perhaps, but while he hasn’t said yes, he hasn’t said no, either.) Has he instead set his sights on the Senate seat once held by his father? Hard to say for certain what the future holds for RFK Jr. For these are only rumors, and it would be irresponsible to speculate.

Instead, we shall await the definitive word from Mr. Kennedy himself as to what his plans for 2008 will be. In the meantime, it’s not too late to SIGN THE PETITION and let him know your thoughts. Sign it today and tell him why you want him to run for the White House!

You can check out this week’s Ring of Fire radio broadcast in its entirety here. Or, you may download the mp3 of the show segment directly here. (Bobby’s comments regarding his support of Hillary Clinton can be found in the first hour, about 15 minutes into the broadcast.)

Copyright 2007 by RFKin2008.com. All Rights Reserved.

11 Responses to “Kennedy Supports Clinton for President”

  1. Brother Ray October 10, 2007 at 7:59 pm #

    Hillary???? wow.

    I guess he’s only doing what he’s gotta do, but somehow this does not strike me as a match made in heaven.

  2. Karen Blanton October 11, 2007 at 8:52 am #

    I can’t tell you how utterly shocked I am that RFK would actually support this DLC hack, Hillary Clinton for the Democratic nominee. I have always felt her was a LIBERAL, but I guess MONEY REALLY DOES talk!

    To my great sadness, I will no longer promote his “green” message or ever TRUST the Kennedys again! This stinks to high heaven and I will DO EVERYTHING possible to prevent the WITCH from becoming POTUS! I was wondering if she was the nominee if I would vote for her, thought I could and “hold my nose” NOW, it doesn’t matter! America is SCREWED and I SO WISH I could move to another country!

    So thanks RFK, FOR NOTHING… you’re nothing but yet another CORPORATE sell-out! It is NOW so very clear that “We The People” no longer matter, even to the Kennedys!

    What a shame, and SHAME ON YOU! And take your environmental works and do what you will! You have lost me and I will spread the message LOUD AND CLEAR!

    kb

  3. Anonymous October 11, 2007 at 11:06 pm #

    I’ve admired the Kennedy family since I was a little girl, and I commend you for your endorsement Bobby.

    I haven’t made any decision about who I’ll vote for in the primary yet, but I know Hillary would make an outstanding president.

    Keep up the good work, and say hi to Ted for me!

  4. Cheryl October 12, 2007 at 7:31 pm #

    It is a sad day when a Kennedy would support someone who was for the war. I am totally surprised by his actions.

  5. Ella October 13, 2007 at 5:42 pm #

    Bad call, Bobby.

  6. Chrisy October 15, 2007 at 3:46 pm #

    To those of you who are coming down hard on Bobby for his decision, I would just like to say that I think you are being unfair. Everyone should be able to support who they think is best. I respect the right of free thought in this country.

    I personally disagree with him, but that is my right. I still admire him for his work on the enviroment, though as Democrats and being a primary season, I am going to be working against Clinton to be nominated by my party. I can respect his right to support her and work for her, and I would think he would support my right to support and work for Chris Dodd is that is my choice.

    I don’t vote for the lesser of two evils. I personally find Hillary dishonest in many ways
    (promising the world to get elected to everyone and than not delivering on her promises once elected) I also don’t like the fact that there seem to be two families who only get to be President and they switch off every 4 to 8 years (Bush, Clinton, Bush, and Clinton). Hillary will not be getting my vote period. I will not vote Republican and will most likely be forced to write in RFK jr as President because I do like his stand on the enviroment and my party picked someone I as a Democrat could not vote for period.

    There are other Candidates within the Democratic party that I like Chris Dodd, Bill Richardson, Joe Biden etc who I think have great ideas and I think more electable than Clinton. I wonder how many other Democrats refuse to vote for the lesser of two evils and will either stay home on election day or write in someone because they do not nor can they support and vote for Hillary.

    Anyway, Bobby if your are reading this I respect your right to support who you want. If Hillary gets the nomination for our party than come election day in Nov. 2008 I will be writing your name RFK Jr for President.

  7. rfkin2008 October 15, 2007 at 6:10 pm #

    You’ve got the right idea, Chrisy. WRITE HIM IN!

    I plan to write in Bobby’s name on the ballot as my choice, and encourage others to do the same.

    Of course, this is not as easy to do anymore, thanks to electronic voting machines.

    Ever tried to do a write-in on one of these gizmos? You have to spin the little wheel for each letter of the write-in candidate’s name (a long name like “Robert F. Kennedy Jr.” may take you a few minutes), then be sure to click the “select” button for each letter. 10 minutes later, you’re done…or are you?

    Be sure to double-check to make sure that each letter of the name is there and spelled correctly before finalizing your ballot. Oftentimes, the vote will be counted anyway if the spelling is close or a recognizable variant (Bobby Kennedy Jr., RFK Jr., etc…MIGHT WORK, but no promises your vote will be counted if you use an abbreviation).

    Ok, OK, actually, there are no promises that your vote will be counted fairly, if at all. But for those of us who feel we must vote what is really in our hearts, a write-in candidate may be our only option. RFK Jr. is my choice, and I’m glad to see he is still your choice, too.

  8. Chrisy October 16, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    I am just glad that there are those of us who still vote for what is in our hearts. Who refuse to vote for the lesser of two evils.

    How many times will people vote for the lesser of two evils only to find out that evil is still evil and that they voted in the wrong person? I know Republicans who voted for Bush even though they didn’t like him because they thought he was the lesser of two evils and regret that vote and are sorry they voted for him. I just know for me personally I can’t vote nor support Hilary Clinton. I don’t think she is the best choice and I don’t like the fact she seems to flip flop on the issues dependeing on who she is talking to. She remains me of a person who Promises this and Promises that but when the time comes to deliever and make good on the promises she forgots all about it.

    I would love to see my fellow Democrats vote by what they feel is morally right. Do Not vote for the lesser of two evils. Vote or Write in the person who you think has the moral character to be President and to lead this country through these tough and difficult times. For me the choice will be only one name I will write down if Clinton is nominated for the candidate of my party and that is Robert F. Kennedy Jr.

    We don’t need a President who is in the beltway, but fresh blood and a fresh perspective. RFK Jr would be a good President and I think may be the best hope for the future of this country because of his stand on the enviroment and other issues. I like his honesty and so I have to do what I feel is right. I hope others will join us and not vote for the lesser of two evils but write in RFK Jr if Clinton gets the nomination.

  9. Val December 9, 2007 at 9:10 am #

    thank u bro, very interesting …

    i don’t really have a dog in this fight because i am a registered independent and won’t be voting for Hillary. I don’t live in NY state so I wouldn’t be able to vote for Bobby if he ran for Senator and wouldn’t benefit if he won. But I AM a RFK Jr. admirer, and honestly his endorsement of clinton made me stop and wonder “what the hell is he THINKING?”

  10. Maximus December 20, 2007 at 2:22 am #

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AnybodyButClinton - November 30, 2007

    Bobby, I’m glad that you have so much faith in Hillary. Everybody’s got to believe in something.

    As for me, I wouldn’t vote for her if she were the last human on planet earth.

Leave a Reply

